Fund for Leaders Scholarship


 The Fund for Leaders Scholarship Application for the 2020-2021 academic year is available below. The deadline is January 1, 2020.  Recipients will be notified by April 30, 2020.

 Applications should be submitted to Tracy Moffatt, SWO President, 1944 Crestview Way, Naples, FL 34119 or electronically to

The scholarship will be awarded by the decision of the FL-BA SWO board at their January 2019 board meeting using the following criteria:

· The applicant must be a student in the candidacy process attending one of the eight ELCA seminaries in either the Master of Divinity or Master of Arts program, or a student in an approved extension program of one of the ELCA seminaries and be enrolled in an approved program, such as the Theological Education for Emerging Ministries (TEEM) program.
· Preference will be given to residents of the Florida-Bahamas Synod.
· Preference will be given to female applicants.
· Preference will be given to an active member of a congregational unit of the Women of the ELCA.
· Applicant should exhibit faith qualities that empower others.
· Applicant should demonstrate leadership qualities in church and the community.

 Thank you, Florida-Bahamas Women of the ELCA, for your generous support of our Fund for Leaders Scholarship! It is your financial support that allows us to make scholarships available which, in turn, reduce the amount of debt our recipients will have after leaving seminary. If you would like to donate to the Fund for Leadership Scholarship, please send your donation to our Treasurer, Laurie Nelson at 22223 Buffalo Ave Port Charlotte, FL 33952.  Be sure to indicate that it is for the Fund for Leaders Scholarship.

Scholarship History:

Several years ago, the Women of the Florida Bahamas Synod developed a fund through the ELCA Fund for Leaders (formerly Leaders in Mission) to award an annual scholarship to a seminary student.  In 2011, upon reaching the required fund balance of $25,000, our organization was qualified to offer a scholarship.  The fund has since grown to over $70,000

Scholarship Recipients:

2011: Michelle Walka

2012: Joan Holden and Marissa Gardner Tweed

2013: Marissa Gardner Tweed and Marilyn Beyer

2014: Joan Holden and Jenny Michael

2015: Marissa Gardner Tweed

2016: Jenny Michael and Nicole Eastwood

2017: Nicole Eastwood and Diana Fajardo

2018: Lois Sorenson and Trixie Richter

2019: Lois Sorenson, Trixie Richter, and Ruth Ann Hoy

Elaine Heine,
Jul 13, 2019, 1:42 PM
Elaine Heine,
Jul 13, 2019, 1:42 PM
Elaine Heine,
Jan 2, 2012, 10:47 AM