top of page


The Fund for Leaders Scholarship Application for the 2025-2026 academic year is available below. The deadline is midnight, December 15, 2024.

Applications should be submitted

via mail or email to: 

Donna Person

7418 Corkwood Circle

Tamarac, FL 33321

The scholarship will be awarded by the decision of the FL-Bahamas SWO Board at their January Board Meeting using the following criteria:

  • The applicant must be a student in the candidacy process attending one of the eight ELCA seminaries in either the Master of Divinity or Master of Arts program or a student in an approved extension program of one of the ELCA seminaries and be enrolled in an approved program, such as the Theological Education for Emerging Ministries (TEEM) program.

  • Preference will be given to residents of the Florida-Bahamas Synod.

  • Preference will be given to female applicants.

  • Preference will be given to an active member of a congregational unit of the Women of the ELCA.

  • Applicants should exhibit faith qualities that empower others.

  • Applicants should demonstrate leadership qualities in the church and the community.

Contributions to the scholarship fund:

Thank you, Florida-Bahamas Women of the ELCA, for your generous support of our Fund for Leaders Scholarship! It is your financial support that allows us to make scholarships available which, in turn, reduce the amount of debt our recipients will have after leaving seminary.

If you would like to donate to the Fund for Leadership Scholarship, please send your donation to:

Tracy Moffatt, Treasurer

1944 Crestview Way

Naples, FL 34119

(239) 848-7274

Scholarship History:

Several years ago, the Women of the Florida Bahamas Synod developed a fund through the ELCA Fund for Leaders (formerly Leaders in Mission) to award an annual scholarships to a seminary students.  In 2011, upon reaching the required fund balance of $25,000, our organization was qualified to offer a scholarship.  The fund has since grown to over $75,000

Scholarship Recipients:

2011: Michelle Walka 

2012: Joan Holden and Marissa Gardner Tweed 

2013: Marissa Gardner Tweed and Marilyn Beyer

2014: Joan Holden and Jenny Michael

2015: Marissa Gardner Tweed

2016: Jenny Michael and Nicole Eastwood

2017: Nicole Eastwood and Diana Fajardo

2018: Lois Sorenson and Trixie Richter

2019: Lois Sorenson, Trixie Richter, and Ruth Ann Hoy

2020: Trixie Richter and Brandy Schneck

2021:  Trixie Richter and Macy Kennedy

2022: Kristin Berkey-Abbott, Johanna Figueroa, and Macy Kennedy

2023: Courtney Noya

2024: Boris Camille, Beatrice D'Angelo and Heather Hedman-DeVaughn

bottom of page